Online Workshop 2021 on Sustainable Development

Download the flyer of the workshop here:

General Programme

Monday, September 27thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
08.00 – 08.10
Tokyo:
15.00 – 15.10
Welcome and IntroductionModerator: Lena Mäler, Professor in Biochemistry (Stockholm University)

Professor Astrid Söderbergh Widding, President (Stockholm University) and Professor Teruo Fujii, President (The University of Tokyo)
Stockholm:
08.10-09.10
Tokyo:
15.10–16.10

Key note speeches: How can universities make an impact on society, relating to SDGs?

Agenda2030 and the key role of university impact – Inducing change towards sustainable development

Challenges and Opportunities in an Aged Society





Johan Kuylenstierna, Advisor to the President on Sustainability (SU)


Hiroko Akiyama, Professor Emeritus (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.10 – 09.20
Tokyo:
16.10 – 16.20
Presentation of Thematic workshops
Stockholm:
09.20 – 09.35
Tokyo:
16.20 – 16.35
Coffee/Tea Break
Stockholm: 9.35 – 12:00
Tokyo:
16.35 – 19:00
Thematic Workshops
Tuesday, September 28thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
08.00 – 11.20
Tokyo:
15.00 – 18.20
Thematic Workshops
Stockholm:
11.20 – 12.00
Tokyo:
18.20 – 19.00
Summary of thematic sessions and closingModerator: Lena Mäler, Professor in Biochemistry (Stockholm University)

Theme 1: The Brain and Society

Monday, September 27th

Prevention and Therapy of Alzheimer Disease
Alzheimer disease is a major challenge for the aging population in the world. The development of new treatment strategies requires deeper understanding of the brain and how it is affected upon normal and diseased aging.

Monday, September 27thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
09.35 – 09.40
Tokyo:
16.35 – 16.40
IntroductionPer Nilsson (KI)
Stockholm:
09.40 – 10.10
Tokyo:
16.40–17.10
Reflections on the role of memory in decision-makingRonald Van den Berg (SU)
Stockholm:
10.10 – 10.40
Tokyo:
17.10–17.40
Neuro-epigenetic approach to Alzheimer’s diseaseTatsuo Mano (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
10.40 – 11.00
Tokyo:
17.40 – 18.00
Break
Stockholm:
11.00 – 11.30
Tokyo:
18.00 – 18.30
’FINGERS’: World-Wide FINGERS for Alzheimer preventionMiia Kivipelto (KI)
Stockholm:
11.30 – 12:00
Tokyo:
18.30 – 19.00
Toward pharmacological prevention of Alzheimer’s diseaseTakeshi Iwatsubo (UTokyo)

Tuesday, September 28th

Brain disease biology, neural circuit basis and cognition for future therapy 
Most, if not all, brain disorders cause wide-spread dysregulation of both neural processing and subsequent behavior. Development of novel treatments therefore often need to consider the full scale of measurements, from neuron to behavior.

Tuesday, September 28thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
08.00 – 08.30
Tokyo:
15.00- 15.30
Dissecting the developmental epileptic encephalopathy caused by the loss-of-function of CDKL5 at the macroscopic, microscopic, and mesoscopic scalesTeruyuki Tanaka (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
08.30 – 09.00
Tokyo:
15.30–16.00
Computational modelling perspective on network correlates of cognitive impairmentPawel Herman (KTH)
Stockholm:
09.00 – 09.15
Tokyo:
16.00 – 16.15
Break
Stockholm:
09.15 – 09.45
Tokyo:
16.15 – 16.45
Optical interrogation of brain functions in behaving marmosetsMasanori Matsuzaki (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.45 – 10.15
Tokyo:
16.45 – 17.15
The neuronal basis of cognition – from parvalbumin interneurons, to cortical gamma oscillations, and behaviorMarie Carlén (KI)
Stockholm:
10.15 – 10.30
Tokyo:
17.15 – 17.30
Break
Stockholm:
10.30 – 11.15
Tokyo:
17.30 – 18.15
Panel Discussion
Stockholm:
11.15 – 11.20
Tokyo:
18.15 – 18.20
ClosingHaruhiko Bito (UTokyo)

Theme 2: Biomaterials

Theme 2.1: Nanocellulose and lignocellulosic materials

Monday, September 27thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
10.35 – 10.45
Tokyo:
17.35 – 17.45
Welcome and short introduction Lennart Bergström (Stockholm University)
Thematic block:New developments and basic science of nanocellulose and lignocellulosic materials 
Stockholm:
10.45 – 11.05
Tokyo:
17.45 – 18.05
Lignin nanoparticles for sustainable processes and functional materials 
Mika Sipponen (SU) 
Stockholm:
11.05 – 11.25
Tokyo:
18.05 – 18.25
Recovery of the Irreversible Crystallinity of Nanocellulose by Crystallite Fusion 
Kazuho Daicho (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
11.25 – 11.45
Tokyo:
18.25 – 18.45
New functionalities of lignocellulosic materials 
Yuanyuan Li (KTH)
Thematic block:Applications of nanocellulose and lignocellulosic materials
Stockholm:
11.45 – 12.05
Tokyo:
18.45 – 19.05
Nanocellulose based adsorbents for water treatment: Tailoring of surface properties 
Aji Mathew (SU)
Tuesday, September 28thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
08.00 – 08.10
Tokyo:
15.00 – 15.10
Welcome and short introductionJunichiro Shiomi
(UTokyo)
Thematic block (continued):Applications of nanocellulose and lignocellulosic materials 
Stockholm:
08.10 – 08.30
Tokyo:
15.10 – 15.30
Rheological properties of nanocellulose in the dilute region 


Reina Tanaka
(Forestry and Forest Products Research Institute, UTokyo)
Stockholm:
08.30 – 08.50
Tokyo:
15.30 – 15.50
Chemically modified fibres with new material processing possibilities 

(Per Larsson, KTH)
Stockholm:
08.50 – 09.10
Tokyo:
15.50 – 16.10
Chemical composition and functional group distribution of phosphorylated cellulose nanofibers 
Mengchen Zhao
(Oji Holdings Corporation, UTokyo)

Stockholm:
09.10 – 09.20
Tokyo:
16.10 – 16.20
Break
Thematic block:X-ray and Neutron scattering studies on nanocellulose and lignocellulosic materials
Stockholm:
09.20 – 09.40
Tokyo:
16.20 – 16.40
Applications of scattering techniques for development of nanocellulosic (or lignocellulosic) materials Daniel Söderberg (KTH)
Stockholm:
09.40 – 10.00
Tokyo:
16.40 -17.00
Phonon transport in cellulose and future collaboration with J-PARC 

Junichiro Shiomi
(School of Engineering, UTokyo) 
Stockholm:
10.00 – 10.20
Tokyo:
17.00 – 17.20
Probing the assembly and functionality of cellulose nanomaterials with small angle scattering techniques 
Germán Salazar-Alvarez (UU)
Stockholm:
10.20 – 10.30
Tokyo:
17.20 – 17.30
Break
Stockholm:
10.30 – 11.15
Tokyo:
17.30 – 18.15
Panel discussion: The future of nanocellulose and lignocellulosic materials Lennart Bergström (SU), Eva Malmström (KTH and WWSC), Tsuguyuki Saito (UTokyo) 

Moderator: Daniel Söderberg (KTH) 
Stockholm:
11.15 – 11.20
Tokyo:
18.15 – 18.20
Closing of symposiumLennart Bergström (SU) and Junichiro Shiomi (UTokyo)

Theme 2.2: Biomaterial for Biomedical Engineering

Session 1

Monday, September 27thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm: 9.35 – 09.45
Tokyo:
16.35 – 16.45
Welcome noteAgneta Richter-Dahlfors (KI, KTH) & Horacio Cabral (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.45 – 10.15
Tokyo:
16.45 – 17.15
An injectable hemostat composed of a polyphosphate-conjugated hyaluronan hydrogelTaichi Ito (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
10.15 – 10.45
Tokyo:
17.15 – 17.45
Optotracers for detection of
staphylococci
Susanne Löffler (KI)
Stockholm:
10.45 – 11.15
Tokyo:
17.45 – 18.15
Nanotechnology approaches for tumor-targeted delivery of proteinsHoracio Cabral (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
11.15 – 11.45
Tokyo:
18.15 – 18.45
Engineering mucus and mucins for biomedical applicationsThomas Crouzier (KTH & KI)
Stockholm:
11.45 – 12.00
Tokyo:
18.45 – 19.00
SummaryAgneta Richter-Dahlfors (KI & KTH)

Session 2

Tuesday, September 28thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
08.00 – 08.05
Tokyo:
15.00 – 15.05
Word from moderatorHoracio Cabral (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
08.05 – 08.35
Tokyo:
15.05 – 15.35
Human Neurovascular in
vitro models
Anna Herland (KI)
Stockholm:
08.35 – 09.05
Tokyo:
15.35–16.05
Importance of oxygen in advanced cell-based assay using microplates and microphysiological systemsYasuyuki Sakai (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.05 – 09.35
Tokyo:
16.05 – 16.35
Microfluidics based liquid biopsy in cancer diagnostics – nano surfaces for immunoaffinity based rare cell isolationAman Russom (KTH & KI)
Stockholm: 9.35 – 09.40
Tokyo:
16.35 – 16.40
Break
Stockholm:
09.40 – 10.10
Tokyo:
16.40 – 17.10
Fundamentals and biomedical application of hydrogelsTakamasa Sakai (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
10.10 – 10.40
Tokyo:
17.10 – 17.40
Tailoring the biointerface in organic electronic devicesErica Zeglio (KTH)
Stockholm:
10.40 – 11.10
Tokyo:
17.40 – 18.10
Design of biocompatible polymers for cell surface functionalizationYuji Teramura (AIST & UU)
Stockholm:
11.10 – 11.15
Tokyo:
18.10 – 18.15
SummaryHoracio Cabral (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
11.15 – 11.20
Tokyo:
18.15 – 18.20
Time to switch to main program via link from SU
Stockholm:
11.20 – 12.00
Tokyo:
18.20 – 19.00
Main program via link from SU: Summary of Thematic sessions and closing 

Theme 3: Education for Sustainable Development and Healthy Ageing

Venue: On-line (Zoom link will be communicated later)

Monday, September 27thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
9.35 – 9.45 
Tokyo:
16.35 – 16.45
Introduction to Thematic Workshop 3
Stockholm:
9.45 – 10.15 
Tokyo:
16.45 – 17.15 
Earlier cooperation, present initiatives and future plans between University of Tokyo and Stockholm Trio in the field of education for sustainable developmentProfessor Yuto Kitamura (UoT), Associate professor Ulf Fredriksson (SU), Professor Shu-Nu Chang Rundgren (SU), Associate professor Anders Rosén (KTH)
Stockholm:
10.15 – 10.25
Tokyo:
17.15 – 17.25 
Introduction to group discussions
Stockholm:
10.25 – 10.35 
Tokyo:
17.25 – 17.35 
Break
Stockholm:
10.35 – 11.10 
Tokyo:
17.35  – 18.10 
Group discussions
Stockholm:
11.10 – 11.30 
Tokyo:
18.10 – 18.30
Reports from the groups
Stockholm:
11.30 – 11.50 
Tokyo:
18.30 – 18.50
Some conclusions for the further cooperation
Stockholm:
11.50 – 12.00
Tokyo:
18.50 – 19.00
Closing of the workshop

Venue: On-line (Zoom link will be communicated later)

Tuesday, September 28thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
8.00 – 8.10 
Tokyo:
15.00 – 15.10 
Introduction to part II of Thematic Workshop 3
Stockholm:
8.10 – 8.40 
Tokyo:
15.10 – 15.40 
Education program for the future specialist nurses in older people nursing (Presentation including time for questions)Dr. Anne-Marie Boström (KI)
Stockholm:
8.40 – 9.10 
Tokyo:
15.40 – 16.10 
Preventing Frailty through Improved Nutrition, Exercise, and Social Participation (Presentation including time for questions)Mr. Weida Lyu (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
9.10 – 9.20 
Tokyo:
16.10 – 16.20 
Break
Stockholm:
9.20 – 9.50 
Tokyo:
16.20 – 16.50 
Place, nature, and aging-
ecosophies of older women from a biographical aging perspective
Malgorzata Malec Rawinski (SU)
Stockholm:
9.50 – 10.00 
Tokyo:
16.50 – 17.00 
Introduction to group discussions
Stockholm:
10.00 – 10.10 
Tokyo:
17.00 – 17.10 
Break
Stockholm:
10.10 – 10.40 
Tokyo:
17.10 – 17.40 
Group discussions
Stockholm:
10.40 – 11.10 
Tokyo:
17.40 – 18.10 
Reports from the group discussions
Stockholm:
11.10 – 11.20 
Tokyo:
18.10 – 18.20 
Conclusions for the further cooperation &
Closing of the workshop

Theme 4: Multiscale and Multiphysics Phenomena

Theme 4.1: Large-scale Computation in Life Science with the Memorial of Prof. Fujitani

Venue: On-line (Zoom link will be communicated later)

Monday, September 27thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
09.35 – 09.40
Tokyo:
16.35 – 16.40
Start upChair: Shu Takagi (UTokyo) and Berk Hess (KTH)
Stockholm:
09.40 – 09.50
Tokyo:
16.40 – 16.50

Professor Fujitani in Memoriam

Erik Lindahl (KTH, SU)
Stockholm:
09.50 – 10.15
Tokyo:
16.50 – 17.15
Special-purpose computer systems for Molecular Dynamics simulations
Makoto Taiji, (RIKEN)
Stockholm:
10.15 – 10.40
Tokyo:
17.15 – 17.40
Modeling Molecular MachinesErik Lindahl (KTH, SU)
Stockholm:
10.40 – 11.05
Tokyo:
17.40 – 18.05
Physical Insight into Protein Surface through High Performance Computation: Prof. Fujitani’s research and idea
Takefumi Yamashita (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
11.05 – 11.30
Tokyo:
18.05 – 18.30
Conformational landscapes of membrane proteins
Lucie Delemotte (KTH)
Stockholm:
11.30 – 11.40
Tokyo:
18.30 – 18.40
Break
Stockholm:
11.40 – 11.50
Tokyo:
18.40 – 18.50

Numerical simulation of the platelet margination in a square channel flow

Dongig Oh (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
11.50 – 12.00
Tokyo:
18.50 – 19.00

Efficient MD simulations at constant-pH

Anton Jansen (KTH)
Stockholm:
12.00 – 12.10
Tokyo:
19.00 – 19.10
Regulation of absorption wavelength and proton transfer in microbial rhodopsinsMasaki Tsujimura (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
12.10 – 12.20
Tokyo:
19.10 – 19.20
Modelling lipid binding and modulation of pLGICsAkshay Sridhar (KTH)
Stockholm:
12.20 – 12.30
Tokyo:
19.20 – 19.30
Summary

Theme 4.2: Interfacial Thermo-Fluid Mechanics

Tuesday, September 28thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
08.00 – 08.05
Tokyo:
15.00 – 15.05
Zoom Seminar is Open
Stockholm:
08.05-08.20
Tokyo:
15.05–15.20
Wetting on complex surfaces.Armin Shahmardi (KTH)
Stockholm:
08.20–08.35
Tokyo:
15.20–15.35
A numerical study on capillary
flow in open rectangular channels.
Junya Onishi (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
08.35–09.05
Tokyo:
15.35–16.05
Benchmarking volume-of-fluids
and phase-field methods to
no-slip MD simulations with moving contact line
Ugis Lacis (KTH)
Stockholm:
09.05 – 9.10
Tokyo:
16.05 – 16.10
Break
Stockholm:
09.10 – 09.25
Tokyo:
16.10 – 16.25
Asymmetric contact line friction driven droplet dynamics.Yaerim Lee (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.25 – 09.40
Tokyo:
16.25 – 16.40
Liquid infused surfaces for drag reduction and heat transfer enhancement.Johan Sundin (KTH)
Stockholm:
09.40 – 09.55
Tokyo:
16.40 – 16.55
Size effects for dry antifogging surfaces.Timothée Mouterde (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.55 – 10.10
Tokyo:
16.55 – 17.10
Jumping of coalescing droplets
on superhydrophobic surfaces.
Outi Tammisola (KTH)
Stockholm:
10.10–10.15
Tokyo:
17.10–17.15
Break
Stockholm:
10.15–10.45
Tokyo:
17.15–17.45
Bouncing dynamics of water droplets on a cold superhydrophobic surface.Wei-Lun Hsu (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
10.45–11.00
Tokyo:
17.45–18.00
Numerical simulations of evaporating droplets.Nicolo Scapin (KTH)
Stockholm:
11.00 – 11.15
Tokyo:
18.00 – 18.15
Discussion on current interface and wetting projects.
Stockholm:
11.15 – 11.20
Tokyo:
18.15 – 18.20
Closing

Theme 5: Hybrid Infrastructure for Urban Sustainability

Hybrid infrastructure for urban sustainability

Climate change, urbanization, and demographic transition impose new challenges for urban infrastructure and planning, requiring new solutions for the urban infrastructure landscape, including nature-based solutions and decentralized and localized hybrid infrastructure. Transforming our urban environment for a more sustainable one must be a priority to accommodate ageing population and protect human health, provide adequate services, and prevent damages from growing calamities (heat waves and wildfires, floods).

Monday, September 27thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
09.05 – 09.10
Tokyo:
16.05 – 16.10
Plenary: Presentation of Thematic workshops
Stockholm:
09.10 – 09.35
Tokyo:
16.10 – 16.35
Coffee/Tea Break
Stockholm:
09.35 – 09.45
Tokyo:
16.35 – 16.45
Conceptualization speechKen Fukushi (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.45 – 10.05
Tokyo:
16.45 – 17.05
EnergyPer Lundqvist (KTH)
Stockholm:
10.05 – 10.25
Tokyo:
17.05 – 17.25
Pollution (water)Jian Pu (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
10.25 – 10.45
Tokyo:
17.25 – 17.45
Water InfrastructureTimos Karpouzoglou (KTH)
Stockholm:
10.45 – 11.05 
Tokyo:
17.45 – 18.05
Health riskKen Fukushi (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
11.05 – 11.25
Tokyo:
18.05 – 18.25
Health riskPetter Ljungman (KI)
Stockholm:
11.25 – 12.00
Tokyo:
18.25 – 19.00
DiscussionPer Lundqvist (KTH)
Tuesday, September 28thTopicSpeaker
Stockholm:
08.00 – 08.05
Tokyo:
15.00-15.05
Start upKen Fukushi (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
08.05 – 08.25
Tokyo:
15.05 – 15.25
FloodShibuo Yoshihiro (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
08.25 – 08.45
Tokyo:
15.25 – 15.45
Hybrid infrastructure for resilient citiesXuemei Bai (UTokyo’s visiting prof.)
Stockholm:
08.45 – 09.05
Tokyo:
15.45 – 16.05
Heat waveMarcin Jarzebski (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
09.05 – 09.25
Tokyo:
16.05 – 16.25
Climate action with SDGsFranceso Fuso Nerini (KTH)
Stockholm:
09.25 – 09.45
Tokyo:
16.25 – 16.45
Landscape/biodiversityErik Andersson (SU)
Stockholm:
9.45 – 10.05
Tokyo:
16.45 – 17.05
Landscape/biodiversityOsamu Saito (UTokyo’s visiting prof.)
Stockholm:
10.05 – 11.20
Tokyo:
17.05 – 18.20
Discussion on future collaboration and concluding remarksKen Fukushi (UTokyo)
Stockholm:
11.20 – 12.00
Tokyo:
18.20 – 19.00
Plenary: Summary