Upcoming event: On-line Workshop 2020 on Sustainable Development

The third interdisciplinary Workshop within the strategic partnership between the University of Tokyo and the Stockholm Trio

When: September 16th-18th at 15.00 to around 19.00 Tokyo time, and 08.00 to around 12.00 Stockholm time
How: Zoom video meeting

Day 1 involving all participants will mainly deal with how the current COVID-19 epidemic is affecting society, international activities and relationships.

How do we do education, research collaborations and student exchanges under the current circumstances and what are the lessons learned and the new possibilities that we see for the future. We need to redefine this new ecosystem for research, education and collaboration from a mid- to long-term point of view.

Day 2 and Day 3 are devoted to three identified Themes for research and education for Sustainable Development:

PROGRAMME

Joint Theme

Day 1 involving all participants will mainly deal with how the current COVID-19 epidemic is affecting society, education, international activities and relationships.

Link:  https://kth-se.zoom.us/j/65207870920

How do we perform education, research collaborations and student exchanges under the current circumstances and what are the lessons learned and the new possibilities that we see for the future. We need to redefine this new ecosystem for research, education and collaboration from a mid- to long-term point of view.

Chair: Prof. Per Lundqvist, KTH coordinator for the Partnership

Wednesday
September 16
TopicSpeakers
Stockholm: 8.00–8.30
Tokyo: 15.00–15.30
Welcoming addresses and overview of program
Practival information

Professor Sigbritt Karlsson, KTH President, representing the Stockholm Trio
 
Professor Naoto Sekimura, Vice President, UTokyo
 
Ambassador  Shigeyuki Hiroki of Japan to Sweden
Stockholm: 8.30–9.40
Tokyo: 15.30–16.40
Lessons learned during spring Covid-19 crisis
Rapid adaption – what has been problematic and has been successful?

Key-note 1: Presenting survey from KTH

Key-note 2: Experience of UTokyo during the COVID-19 Crisis

Key-note 3: Impacts of Covid-19 on Sustainable Development and Universities

Key-note 4: Academic work post Corona?

Panel discussion

Introducing the discussion topics for the next session
Key note 1: Leif Kari, KTH VP for education
 
Key-note 2: Assoc. Prof. Yuto Kitamura
Key-note 3: Prof. Taikan Oki, Senior Vice-Rector, United Nations University and Special Advisor to President, The University of Tokyo
 
Key-note 4: Assoc.Prof. Kristina Palm, KTH
 

Panel with moderator  Dr. Michael Jacob, Head of the Swedish office for Science and Innovation in Tokyo
Panel: Prof Oki, Assoc.Prof. Palm, Prof. Nikkola (KI), Prof. Joakim Edsjö (SU)
 

Prof. Junichiro Shiomi, UTokyo
9.40-9.50
16.40-16.50
Coffee break
Stockholm: 9.50-10.30
Tokyo: 16.50-17.30
Looking into the future – thinking ahead

Discussion of the New Normal
Break-out sessions for discussion (10 people per room)
Stockholm: 10.30-11.00
Tokyo: 17.30-18.00
Looking into the future – thinking ahead

The influence of the “new normal” in the longer perspective

Key-note: Digitalization, challenges and opportunites for education
Key-not speaker: Prof. Torkel Klingberg, KI

Q/A session. Moderator Prof. Shiomi
Stockholm: 11.00-11.30
Tokyo: 18.00-18.30
Short introduction to the three workshops themes day 2 and 3









Introductions of the Theme-coordinators:

1 The Brain and the Society: Prof. Bito, UTokyo, Assoc. Prof. Lindskog, KI

2.1 Nanocellulose: Prof. Shiomi, UTokyo, Dr. Söderberg, KTH

2.2 Nanobiomaterials: Proj. Assoc. Prof. Teramura, UTokyo, Prof. Richter-Dahlfors, KI

3 Education for Sustainable Development, Prof. Fredriksson, SU, Assoc. Prof. Kitamura, UTokyo

Theme 1: The Brain and the Society

Chairs: Mia Lindskog (KI), Haruhiko Bito (UTokyo)

Thursday September 17Memory from bench to bedsideSpeakers
Stockholm time: 8.30–8.45
Tokyo time: 15.30–15.45
Welcome
Stockholm time: 8.45–9.15
Tokyo time: 15.45-16.15
“What the sense of smell can tell us about human cognition”Jonas Olofsson, PhD
Department of Psychology
Stockholm University
Stockholm time: 9.15–9.45
Tokyo time: 16.15-16.45
“Pathogenic mechanisms and novel therapeutic approaches for Alzheimer disease”Taisuke Tomita, PhD
Laboratory of Neuropathology and Neuroscience
Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
The University of Tokyo
Stockholm time: 9.45–10.00
Tokyo time: 16.45–17.00
Site visit Movie
5 minute break
Stockholm time: 10.00–10.30
Tokyo time: 17.00-17.30
“Spiking neural network simulations of working memory effects: What can we learn from the attractor memory model’s perspective?”Pawel Herman, PhD
KTH
Stockholm time: 10.30–11.00
Tokyo time: 17.30-18.00
“Plasticity and memory mechanisms in vivo”Haruhiko Bito, MD, PhD
Department of Neurochemistry Graduate School of Medicine
The University of Tokyo

Chairs: Johan Lundström (KI), Taketoshi Mori (UTokyo)

Friday September 18Building on your strengthsSpeakers
Stockholm time: 8.30–9.00
Tokyo time: 15.30–16.00
“The Neurotrophins – an innovative therapeutic concept for Alzheimer´s disease”Mia Eriksdotter, MD, PhD
Department of Neurobiology
Care sciences and Society
Karolinska Institutet
Stockholm time: 9.00–9.30
Tokyo time: 16.00-16.30
“Perception and learning of others’ trustworthiness in healthy older adults”Atsunobu Suzuki, PhD Department of Psychology
Graduate School of Humanities and Sociology
The University of Tokyo
Stockholm time: 9.30–9.45
Tokyo time: 16.30-16.45
Site visit Movie
5 minute break
Stockholm time: 9.45–10.15
Tokyo time: 16.45–17.15
“Development of AI Nursing in Geriatrics”Taketoshi Mori, PhD Next Generation Artificial Intelligence Research Center
Graduate School of Information Science and Technology
The University of Tokyo
Stockholm time: 10.15–10.45
Tokyo time: 17.15-17.45
“Movement strategy and intention in persons with motor disability”Lanie Gutierrez Farewik
KTH
Stockholm time: 10.45–11.00
Tokyo time: 17.45-18.00
Concluding remarks
Stockholm time: 11.00–12.00
Tokyo time: 18.00–19.00
Joint summing up for all Themes

Theme 2: Biomaterials

This theme will be separated into a track for Nanocellulose and for Nanobiomaterials respectively.

2.1 Nanocellulose

Tokyo timeStockholm timeThursday, September 17
Material Performance and Properties
14.45–15.0007.45–08.00Zoom Seminar is Open
15.00–15.1008.00–08.10Prof. Lars Berglund (KTH)
Introduction to Material and Structure Properties.
15.10–15.2008.10–08.20Prof. Junichiro Shiomi (The University of Tokyo)
Towards phonon engineering in nanocellulose materials.
15.20–15.2508.20–08.25Break
15.25–15.5008.25–08.50Dr. Junji Nemoto (Hokuetsu Corporation)
Nanocellulose-based air filters and all-cellulose materials.
15.50–16.1508.50–09.15Varvara Apostloupolou-Kalkavoura (Stockholm University)
Humidity-dependent thermal boundary conductance controls the heat transport within super-insulating nanocellulose foams.
16.15–16.2509.15–09.25Break
16.25–16.5009.25–09.50Dr. Tobias Benselfelt (KTH)
Nanocellulose hydrogel networks – Fundamentals and applications.
16.50–17.1509.50–10.15Assist. Prof. Shuji Fujisawa (The University of Tokyo)
Material Design of nanocellulose/polymer composites via Pickering-emulsion templating.
17.15–17.2510.15–10.25Break
17.25–17.5510.25–10.55Panel Discussion all speakers of Day 1
Tokyo timeStockholm timeFriday, September 18
Characterization and Repeatability
14.45–15.0007.45–08.00Zoom Seminar is Open
15.00–15.1008.00–08.10Assoc. Prof. Tsuguyuki Saito (The University of Tokyo)
Analysis on the Crystallinity of Cellulose Nanofibers.
15.10–15.2008.10–08.20Prof. Lars Wågberg (KTH)
Introduction to characterization and repeatability.
15.20–15.2508.20–08.25Break
15.25–15.5008.25–08.50Dr. Tom Willhammar (Stockholm University)
The local crystalline structure of cellulose nanofibers revealed by scanning electron diffraction.
15.50–16.1508.50–09.15Project Assoc. Prof. Takashi Kodama (The University of Tokyo)
Thermal conductivity measurement of individual cellulose nanofibers using a microfabricated device.
16.15–16.2509.15–09.25Break
16.25–16.5009.25–09.50Assist. Prof. Kayoko Kobayashi (Kyoto University)
Morphological analysis of cellulose nanofibers by AFM image processing.
16.50–17.1509.50–10.15Dr. Göksu Cinar Ciftsi (KTH)
Rheological fingerprinting of nanocellulose networks and effects of structural polydispersity
17.15–17.2510.15–10.25Break
17.25–17.5510.25–10.55Panel Discussion all speakers of Day 2
18.00–19.0011.00–12.00Joint Summing-up for all Themes

2.2 Nanobiomaterials

Thursday September 17Nanobiomaterials session 1Speakers
Stockholm time:
08.00–
08.15
Tokyo time: 15.00–15.15
Introduction to the ThemeAgneta Richter-Dahlfors
Professor, KI & KTH
Stockholm time:
08.15–08.45
Tokyo time: 15.15-15.45
The use of nano cellulose for the isolation of circulating tumor cells for diagnosticsAman Russom
Professor, KTH
Stockholm time:
08.45–09.15
Tokyo time: 15.45-16.15
The medical applications of microparticles prepared by SPG membrane emulsification techniqueTaichi Ito
Professor, UTokyo
Stockholm time:
09.15–09.45
Tokyo time: 16.15-16.45
Democratizing molecular diagnostics using
textiles and paper
Mahiar Hamedi
Researcher, KTH
Stockholm time:
09.45–10.15
Tokyo time: 16.45-17.15
Fundamentals and biomedical applications of hydrogelsTakamasa Sakai
Stockholm time:
10.15–10.45
Tokyo time: 17.15–17.45
Renewable biomaterials as enablers in biomedical research and diagnosticsUlrica Edlund
Professor, KTH
Stockholm time:
10.45–11.00
Tokyo time: 17.45–18.00
Summary of the dayAgneta Richter-Dahlfors
Professor, KI & KTH
Friday September 18Nanobiomaterials session 2Speakers
Stockholm time:
08.00– 08.30
Tokyo time: 15.00–15.30
Evaluation and prediction of nano- a ndmicro-particle permeation using cultured alveolus and small intestine tissue modelsYasuyuki Sakai
Professor, UTokyo
Stockholm time:
08.30–09.00
Tokyo time: 15.30-16.00
Neurovascular in vitro modelsAnna Herland
Associate Professor KTH, Reseacher KI
Stockholm time:
09.00–09.30
Tokyo time: 16.00-16.30
Nanomedicine strategies for messenger RNA deliveryHoracio Cabral
Associate Professor, UTokyo
Stockholm time:
09.30–10.00
Tokyo time: 16.30-17.00
Synthetic oligomers and polymers for bacterial sensingSusanne Löffler
Assistant Professor, KI
Stockholm time:
10.00–10.30
Tokyo time: 17.00-17.30
Remodeling of glycocalyx with
glycosaminoglycan-conjugated lipids to control ischemia-reperfusion injury
Yuji Teramura
Proj. Assoc. Prof, UTokyo, and Assoc. Prof, Uppsala University
Stockholm time:
10.30–10.55
Tokyo time: 17.30–17.55
Biosensing in infection biologyOnur Parlak
Assistant Professor, KI
Stockholm time:
10.55–11.00
Tokyo time: 17.55–18.00
Discussion on future interactionsAgneta Richter-Dahlfors
Professor, KI & KTH
Stockholm time:
11.00–12.00
Tokyo time: 18.00–19.00
Joint summing-up with all Themes

Theme 3: Education for Sustainable Development

Thursday, September 17
Education for Sustainable development

Tokyo timeStockholm time
15.00–15.2008.00–08.20Opening of the workshop
Presentation of the program
Practical information
15.20–16.3008.20–09.30First round of presentations
Speaker(s) (SU, KTH and KI)
Presentation followed by discussion and questions
Professor Shu-Nu Chang Rundgren, Department of Education (SU)
Associate professor Anders Rosén, Global Development Hub, Department of Learning, Centre for Naval Architecture (KTH)
Dr Mia von Knorring, Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics (KI)
15.30–15.4509.30–09.45Break
16.45–17.1509.45–10.15Second round of presentations
Speaker (UTokyo)
Presentation followed by discussion and questions
Associate professor Yuto Kitamura, Graduate School of Education (UTokyo)
Assistant Professor Orie Sasaki, Graduate School of Education (UTokyo)
17.15–17.5010.15–10.50General discussion on education for sustainable development
Summing up
17.50–18.0010.50–11.00Closing the session for the day

Friday, September 18
Education and Healthy ageing

Tokyo timeStockholm time
15.00–15.1008.00–08.10Opening of the workshop
Presentation of the program
Practical information
15.10–15.5008.10–08.50Third round of presentations
Speaker (UoT)
Presentation followed by discussion and questions
Professor Katsuya Iijima, Institute for Future Initiatives, (UTokyo)
15.50–16.4508.50–09.45Fourth round or presentations
Speaker(s) 4 (SU, KTH and KI)
Presentation followed by discussion and questions
Dr Malgorzata Malec Rawinski, Department of Education (SU)
Assistant professor Serhiy Dekhtyar, Department of Neurobiology, Care Sciences and Society, Aging Research Center (KI)
16.45–17.0009.45–10.00Break
17.00–17.4510.00–10.45General discussion on education and healthy ageing
Summing up
17.45–18.0010.45–11.00General discussion on future cooperation
Summing up
Future cooperation
Closing the session
18.00-19.0011.00-12.00Joint summing-up for all Themes

List of Speakers

Registration to the Workshop